Selection Committee of the 2009 Justice Prize recipients and Laureates of the Gruber Foundation Justice Prize

Members of the committee that selected the 2009 Justice Prize recipients:

- Carmen Maria Argibay, Supreme Court of Justice of Argentina
- Giuseppe Bisconti, Studio Legale Bisconti
- **Arthur Chaskalson,** Constitutional Court of South Africa (Ret.)
- Param Cumaraswamy, Barrister-at-law at Inner Temple, London Advocate and Solicitor in Kuala Lumpur
- **Bernice Donald,** U.S. District Court, Western District of Tennessee
- Martin Lee, Office of Mr. Martin C.M. Lee, QC., SC

Laureates of the Gruber Foundation Justice Prize:

- 2008: Judge Thomas Buergenthal and Jerome J. Shestack. Judge Buergenthal served as judge and president of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights and helped end the practice of disappearances in Honduras; Shestack is a former president of the American Bar Association who successfully defended dissidents and helped lead the struggle against race and gender discrimination.
- 2007: Judge Carmen Argibay of Argentina, Judge Carlos Cerda of Chile, and Mónica Feria of Peru. Judge Argibay has been a pioneering women's advocate, corruption foe, and participant at the Tokyo Tribunal; Judge Cerda is an independent and courageous member of the Chilean judiciary who pursued Pinochet abuse while the dictator was in power; and Feria is an international lawyer, defender of children's rights and tireless champion of victims of the Fujimori prison massacre of 1992.
- 2006: The Honorable Aharon Barak, retired President of the Supreme Court of Israel, renowned for championing an activist judiciary and the rule of law and democracy.
- 2005: Malaysian attorney Dató Param Cumaraswamy who, at considerable risk to himself, stood up for the independence of the judiciary.
- 2004: Chief Justice Arthur Chaskalson, the first president of South Africa's Constitutional Court, and Deputy Chief Justice Pius Langa, an advocate and judge who helped establish South Africa's Constitution as a model for modern democratic societies.
- 2003: Madame Justice Rosalie Silberman Abella and Madame Justice Bertha Wilson for their contributions to jurisprudence in Canada and beyond. Abella, who served on the Ontario Court of Appeal for 20 years before her appointment to the Supreme Court, is one of Canada's leading advocate for women's and human

rights; Wilson, the first woman appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada, has forged a reputation as a champion of the underdog and a dedicated proponent of fair play.

- 2002: Fali Sam Nariman, Member of the Parliament of India, Senior Advocate in the Supreme Court of India and President of the Bar Association of India, has played an important role in both establishing and enforcing the rule of law in India and in establishing universal principles of human rights as a standard for India and other emerging democracies.
- 2001: The Honorable Justice Anthony Roy Gubbay, former Chief Justice of Zimbabwe, and the Law Society of Zimbabwe were the joint recipients of the inaugural Justice Prize, honored for upholding the independence of the judiciary and protecting the rights of the people of Zimbabwe.